top of page
Search
  • Editor- FTL Alumnae

An SAI's Journey: Finding and Keeping the SAI Flame

Updated: Jul 2, 2020

How impactful can your initiation into Sigma Alpha Iota be? For some, Sigma Alpha Iota jumpstarted an impactful journey that shows there is no time limit to give back to the fraternity.


Susan Bermann, Sigma Chi, University of Miami, reflected on her 45 years as a sister that started her life's leadership experience.


"I was initiated into Sigma Chi at the University of Miami in 1975. I knew from the very beginning that I wanted to be President of the chapter. I expressed an interest in serving on the executive board and was elected to Recording Secretary in my second semester. I became President the following year. It was my Province Officer who gave me my first lesson in how to be a good leader. SAI continued to teach me over the years as I moved into higher level leadership roles within the fraternity.


I married a year after graduation, had children, worked full-time as a Liberian and musician, and always remained an active member in SAI. We moved a few times and wherever we landed, I affiliated with the local alumnae chapter- always serving on the executive board. It was hard work, but it was also fulfilling.


SAI taught me how to be a good manager and leader. It was this training and experience that helped me move into greater leadership roles within the fraternity- culminating in the fulfillment of my life-long dream, serving on the National Executive Board as NVP-Alumnae Chapters."


Sue Bermann is currently retired and is a former Fort Lauderdale Alumnae President, a former Lambda A Province Officer, and a former National Vice President, Alumnae Chapters.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page